DSCN2903
Norway Spruce (Picea abies) kept downsized by an annual cutting

What to do when a tree close to your house grow too big? I thought of cutting it down, after a neighbor warned me of the possible future damage to the foundation caused by the roots. But then I didn’t have the heart to cut it down. Just keeping it in same size might be enough. For approximately ten years now I’ve cut it with shears every late june. Today it’s the same height as I started cutting it.

The trees charater has changed a lot in those years. Today it looks more like a Picea glauca ‘Albertiana Conica’, just much taller. The strict shape render it a focal point , where my eyes can rest whenever I enter the garden. The wood pigeons also love the new shape. They have two nests up in the higher parts of the spruce.

It’s really not labor intensive. I spend one hour a year in late june, to cut the tree with my garden shears. The work is a pleasure, as my thoughts wander around when the hands work the shears.
It’s an art to cut deep into the fresh shoots, not cutting them completely. When cutting at this time of the year, the new shoots are able to produce new buds to shoot from next year. I don’t believe it could shoot again next year, if I cut into last years dark green growth.

The Norway Spruce also acts as an extra garden shed. I keep spare pots and potting mixture out of sight in there.

