DSCN2996
Garlic (Allium sativum) Persian Star

Last year I left a single garlic Persian Star unharvested, trying if I could harvest true seeds of garlic. Since then it has been in its summer rest, awakened for autumn root growth, grown leaves in the winter, to grow a little close group af small garlic plants. Today the group was ready to harvest, and for comparison I harvested a normal Persian Star, which could have increased in size for yet another week.

Years back I tried to let garlic grow undisturbed for many years. I experienced how they decreased in size year by year, until they vanished completely. For this reason I believe the summer rest, where the garlic is harvested and cured, is essential for its vigor. It’s known from tulips, of which only few varieties grow well year after year in danish gardens, unless they are lifted, cured and set again every year.

